Entertainment Industry / Reviews / Television

SHOWS TO WATCH FALL 2012, PT. II

 

I want to apologize that it’s been over a week since my last blog.  If you’ve been following me on Twitter for any length of time, you’ll know that I have been plagued by computer issues for some time now (including being hacked).  One of these days, I’ll be able to buy a new laptop, in the meantime, I’ll continue to muddle along with my Mac OS and the software updates that we installed a few months ago.  For my review of ABC‘s fall line up I refer you to the previous blog.  Next Monday, look for my review of the upcoming shows on NBC.

Before we get into the “meat” of this entry, however, I wanted to address why you should give a rat’s ass what my predictions are.  Here’s a bit of history for you, then.  Way back in the day there was a little show called Rescue 911, hosted by William Shatner.  The show was a colossal hit for CBS (1989-1996) and went from an original slate of three specials into a series lasting seven years.  Here is where I come in.  I was working at CBS at the time and specifically, I was part of a team that would analyze teasers for potential pilots.  I’ll never forget when they showed us the short demo reel for Rescue 911, which was the first “reality” show anyone had seen at the time.  It was pretty clear that there was not a lot of enthusiasm for a “real” show by the executives (our bosses).  Well, a couple of minutes into it, I literally jumped up and said something to the effect of, “We have to buy this!  and… “I love it!”  I got the implication right away that this was going to be the new BIG THING for television.  My reaction was not initially shared.  There was quite a bit of skepticism over the idea of audiences buying into this new genre, and also the question of how we were going to sell it to advertisers.  The debate evolved into a heated argument and I am proud to say that I prevailed by a simple argument, all I had to do was remind people of how many times they had been stuck behind traffic on the 405 because of people rubbernecking accidents.  It was my contention that people are innately curious and want to know what really happens at a crime scene, accident or fire.  I continued with my argument that if there was no interest in these kind of stories that the network news would stop covering them.  There was total quiet in the room and I knew I had them.  Did I get the credit for this stroke of genius, of course not,  but that’s okay, it told me that I had a raw talent for predicting what would or would not succeed at market and forgive me, but I am rarely wrong.  As a matter of fact, I can’t remember, ever being off on a prediction.  So, that’s why it’s worth reading on.

CBS

My returning favorites are:

News: 60 Minutes and 48 HoursReality: Undercover BossDrama: Hawaii Five-O and The MentalistComedy: Two and a Half Men However, it’s doubtful that will remain a favorite with the absence of Charlie Sheen, sorry Ashton!

My top choices in order of preference are:

Person of Interest –Thursdays 9-10PM/EST airs 9/22 — Television Gods  J.J. Abrams and Jonathan Nolan of Bad Robot Productions which brought us Alias, Lost and Fringe.  Abrams, Bryan Burk, Nolan, Greg Plageman (Chase and Cold Case) and David Semel (No Ordinary Family) are the executive producers for Warner Bros. Television.  The hype is high on this show because it received the  highest test ratings of any dramatic pilot in 15 years, causing a CBS executive to gush that the show has: “crazy broad appeal you don’t usually see.” Let’s put it this way CBS is so excited about this show that they moved CSI to Wednesday 10/9C (after 10 years of successful ratings) to make room for Person of Interest.  STORY:  A mysterious (Okay, a bit cliche, but keep reading!) billionaire, Mr. Finch (Emmy Award Winning Michael Emerson from Lost) has developed a computer program that predicts future crime victims. Finch hires former CIA agent Reese (Jim Caviezel, Jesus of The Passion of the Christ), who is presumed to be dead, to help stop those crimes.  I like it because it’s an edgy take off of Early Edition, which at the time, was one of my favorite shows.  The show also stars Academy Award Nominee, Taraji P. Henson.

Unforgettable — Tuesdays 10-11PM/EST airs 9/20 — The series is based J. Robert Lennon‘s short story The Rememberer.  The show’s Creators are Ed Redlick (Without A Trace and Shark) and John Belluci; Co-Producers are Carl Beverly and Sarah Timberman from Kidnapped for CBS Television Studios; in partnership with Sony Pictures Television.  STORY:  Former New York City police detective, Carrie Wells, portrayed by Poppy Montgomery (Without A Trace), suffers from hyperthymesia, a rare medical condition (see the link below) that gives her the ability to remember everything about her life. **To give you an idea of how rare this condition is, in  real life there are only 20 people in the world who have the disorder, one of them being actress Marilu Henner.**  She is reluctantly pulled back into the police force by her former boyfriend and one-time partner Ed Burns played by Dylan Walsh from Everwood after he seeks her help with solving a homicide.  An interesting back story is that her sister was murdered when they were children and it is the one thing that Carrie cannot remember, it is is her obsession to solve this mystery.  Adding more texture to the story is her mother is in a nursing home with Alzheimer’s.  Also in the cast are Michael Gaston, Kevin Rankin and Daya Vaidya.

2 Broke Girls — Monday 9:30PM/EST debuts 9/19 (Following Two and a Half Men), it’s regular time slot will be Mondays 8:30PM/EST starting 9/26 — The Creators are Michael Patrick King (Sex and the City) and Whitney Cummings (Whitney, airing on NBC) for Warner Bros. Television.  There’s a lot of buzz on this show, because there was a bidding war before they even shot the pilot.  STORY:  Pairs two struggling, twenty-something waitresses in NYC, working-class Max (Kat Dennings of Thor), and down on her luck, with a silver spoon stuck in her mouth, Caroline (Beth Behrs from Up Close With Carrie Keagen).  Working together at a Brooklyn restaurant, the two become unlikely friends and dream of one day opening a cupcake shop.  The show is about their struggle to raise the funds for this venture and finding creative ways to make ends meet.  It appeals to me because I like the idea of the clash between working class and privilege and I think this tension makes for good comedy.  My sister, Doktor Hopper, thinks I’m into it because of the cupcakes, ah, what does she know?!  🙂  Rounding out the cast are Garret Morris, Jonathan Kite and Matthew Moy.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyperthymesia
http://www.findingdulcinea.com/features/feature-articles/2008/july/Hyperthymesia–Total-Recall–Totally-Overwhelming.html

A Quick Update:

Now that the computer is back up to speed, I will be posting on a more frequent basis.  I thought I’d mix things up a bit and have the next blog return to Grey Gardens, since there has been interest in seeing that continue.  I am here to not only keep my craft as a writer evolving and hopefully, strengthening, but to be of service, so, if there is something you would like me to write about, please make a suggestion here in a comment.  On the personal sanity and health fronts, I’ve partnered with a couple of girlfriends on Twitter to loose 10 pounds by December, which should be relatively easy.  Walks are increasing and I actually spent all of Saturday night catching up on DVR episodes of Royal Pains (one of my favorite shows on USA Network).  On a more somber note, my beautiful Jetta TDI is probably going to be repossessed this week, so needless to say, the following still applies!

 

© 2011-2013  Cinema Profound  All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on “SHOWS TO WATCH FALL 2012, PT. II

  1. Hello Sidney. I loved your story about Rescue 911. That must have been an amazing scene to witness when you were in that boardroom, to be on the leading edge of what is hot in television!
    As always, I enjoy your posts tremendously!
    Kind regards
    Dean

    • Glad you liked it. Yes, it was an ah hah moment in my career. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment, both are much appreciated. Now, if I could only get more traffic and comments here…

★ Comments are classy ★

