Commentary

SIRI SAYS

In case you’re not aware, the latest iPhone has a built in Personal Assistant named Siri.  While her grasp of diction and grammatical nuances leave much to be desired, she has other assets.

She can dial a call for you, as long as the number is in your contacts list.  Siri can cook up a list of restaurants in the area if you’re in the mood for some Tandoori Chicken.  Impossible to wait to answer a text?  No worries!  Siri can type it and you avoid a hefty ticket for driving and texting.  The list of ways that Siri can expedite your life goes on and on.

Occasionally, Siri has something profound to say like:

 

“I live to serve.”

Siri said this after I thanked her for trying her best to complete a task.  It made me pause.  It was as if Siri was adopting my lexicon because I often say:  “I’m here to serve.”  I thought it was interesting that a huge corporation like Apple programmed this line into Siri’s personality.

Does this mean that we are slowly turning a corner in corporate America?  Has the time to Serve rather than Be Served come??  I think so.  Why?

Because the narcissism that has shaped industry and our culture isn’t working.  The Me is Everything model has expired.  It’s what got a lot of us into this mess to begin with.  Let’s face it, if “I live to serve” were our national motto, there would be no 2008 collapse because that kind of unparalleled greed would not have existed.

If you LIVE TO SERVE, then at the heart of all of your decisions is this thought:  How will my words and actions serve others?  If not, am I willing to compromise my core ideals?  I would suspect the answer more often than not, would be a resounding NO!

The idea of servitude has been given a bad rap.  It’s been diluted down by those champions of personal power and autonomy.  There is a fear that by serving others, we do ourselves an injustice.  I think not.

When you allow yourself to be secondary, you actually operate from a place of profound STRENGTH.  It takes humility and self-confidence to serve others.  It is also relaxing because for the time that you are doing so, you have stepped off of the ego treadmill.

This type of thinking allows everyone to feel and be important.  No one person is sacrificed so that someone else can feel superior.  You can’t feel superior to someone who LOVES to serve.  It’s impossible.

 

“The high destiny of the individual is to serve rather than to rule.” Albert Einstein

Our industry needs this level of cooperative thinking.  Imagine a set where everyone Lives To Serve.  What would it look like?  What would it feel like?  Amazing, right?  Let’s make this happen!

 

IMAGINE

 

Always remember to…

 

>>>>>>>>  Live and Wʀɪᴛᴇ Aᴜᴛʜᴇɴᴛɪᴄᴀʟʟʏ.  <<<<<<<<<<

 

© 2011-2013  Cinema Profound  All Rights Reserved.

8 thoughts on “SIRI SAYS

  1. Years ago when I became a nurse, my patients would have needs and apologize for bothering me! I was shocked and often told them that I was there to serve THEM. It amazed me at the number of nurses who acted arrogant and condescending when they were supposed to be serving the needs of the ill. Profound post, Sidney.

    • Oh, dear! Don’t even get me started at what I, and my loved ones, have endured in the medical system. I agree with you. It seems that the Hippocratic Oath has fallen by the wayside these days. Thank you very much, Cathy! For reading and taking the time to comment. It means so much! 🙂

    • Lisa dear, thank you for once again, coming to visit me here and take the time to leave a note. Feedback means so much to me. As you know, I merely write what Inspiration feeds to me. That you were also touched in this way, humbles me. Yes, we all must be responsible for this beautiful planet we call home. Same back to you and your clan!

  2. The “me in everything” has ruined our society. The vast majority wants nothing to do with serving. They only wants what serves them. Sad, sad world and I don’t see it getting better until we suffer a great collapse (I believe the collapse already started and is in the process of getting worse). Only then can a society move upwards. Great post.

    • Indeed it has, especially in the last 30 years. There has been little focus on public service. Generations of kids are now growing up never having done without a thing, and their parents are not teaching them volunteerism, which is something that I grew up with. My parents were huge proponents of civic responsibility and it has served me well, both in my professional and personal life. As you know, we are on the same page with the Collapse. It’s already happened and we are all staring into the breach. If people don’t wake up and get that we must share societal responsibility, civilization will certainly collapse.

★ Comments are classy ★

