Commentary

PAUSE

I was in the midst of polishing an article about something that I wanted artists to give substantive thought to and the Newtown, Connecticut massacre happened.  In a terrible flash of time,  a 20-year old, stormed into the Sandy Hook Elementary School and slaughtered 20 children.

At the end of the shooting, 26 innocent people were savagely taken from us.  There was also the apparent murder of the shooter’s mother.  Please take a moment to pause and read each name and say a prayer for them.

Sandy Hook Elementary School Shooting Victims

(youngest to eldest)

  1. Daniel Barden, 9/25/05
  2. Chase Kowalski, 10/31/05
  3. Grace McDonnell, 12/04/05
  4. Josephine Gay, 12/11/05
  5. Charlotte Bacon, 2/22/06
  6. Dylan Hockley, 3/8/06
  7. James Mattioli , 3/22/06
  8. Ana M. Marquez-Greene, 04/04/06
  9. Jack Pinto, 5/06/06
  10. Jessica Rekos, 5/10/06
  11.  Emilie Parker, 5/12/06
  12. Catherine V. Hubbard, 6/08/06
  13. Jesse Lewis, 6/30/06
  14. Allison N. Wyatt, 7/03/06
  15. Madeleine F. Hsu, 7/10/06
  16. Olivia Engel, 7/18/06
  17. Caroline Previdi, 9/07/06
  18. Benjamin Wheeler, 9/12/06
  19. Avielle Richman, 10/17/06
  20. Noah Pozner, 11/20/06
  21. Mary Sherlach, School Psychologist, 2/11/56
  22. Anne Marie Murphy, Teacher, 07/25/60
  23. Dawn Hocksprung, School Principal, 06/28/65
  24. Lauren Russeau, Teacher, 6/1982 (full date of birth not specified)
  25. Rachel Davino, Teacher, 7/17/83
  26. Victoria Soto, Teacher, 11/04/85

Allegedly, the assassin was 20-year-old Adam Lanza, also of Newtown.  According to the Newtown Police, Lanza discharged at least 100 shots.  This accounts for many of the victims being fired upon multiple times.  Lanza apparently died of self-inflicted gunshot wounds, according to the Connecticut State Police. This crime is disturbing on many levels not the least of which is that according to police sources, earlier that morning Lanza committed matricide.  He apparently had a history of psychological issues.  No surprise there.

Miraculously, there was a survivor.  A woman whom police say will be instrumental in the case.  She and those others who were eye witnesses will almost inevitably be doubly victimized by PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder), and in many cases PTSD’s cousins: insomnia, substance abuse, relationship issues, nightmares, OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder) and anger management.

In my opinion, the remaining issue about this event is that according to The New York Times, Lanza significantly had easy access to a veritable arsenal of firearms and ammunition.  The following weapons were found in the shooter’s possession following what looks like suicide::  .9 mm  Sig Sauer; .10 mm Glock; other various semiautomatic pistols and a .223 Bushmaster semiautomatic rifle.  The weapons were all legally purchased and registered to his late mother, Nancy Lanza allegedly his first victim.  It is also reported that he had enough rounds to shoot many of the victims multiple times.  Left unexplained is what was a suburbanite, landscape executive doing with so many lethal weapons?  I, for one, would like to know.  What about you??

To me, however, Lanza is of little interest.  He is not what I choose to focus on.  I am sorry for those people who knew him.  No doubt, there will be much second guessing plaguing his acquaintances.  What I do find interesting is that he and the rest of us shared the same air, water, and soil.  He walked among us.  I wonder how many people passed him unawares of their brush with evil.

Some of you may not like that I refer to a religious term here, but there it is.  E V I L.  You can analyze it, scrutinize it, theorize it. but you cannot sugar coat it.  The morning of Friday, December 14, 2012 will, just as it did in 1941, become:

“…a date which will live in infamy, …”  Franklin D. Roosevelt

Their lives have touched all of us.  They have affected history, of this I have no doubt.  Their lives were not lost in vain.  And…

Remember that The Assholes (see my previous articles) who want us overcome with FEAR, will play this to the hilt.  They will want to brainwash us into panic thinking.  Mass murderers and serial killers lurk everywhere.  Well, actually, potentially they do.  However,  and for those of you who don’t know:  Fear is FALSE EVIDENCE APPEARING REAL.  They will try to convince us that ALL is lost.  This is bull crap!  It will only be true if we buy into the lie that evil is winning.

Evil CANNOT triumph.  We must not foster its growth.  We must all care for each other.  Forgive one another.  Or, as some wise person said:  Take the high road.”  I know that if we do this,

1.
We shall overcome
We shall overcome
We shall overcome some day
CHORUS:
Oh, deep in my heart
I do believe
We shall overcome some day

Where do we as a nation, as a people…go from here?

Here’s a good place to start…

Tonight when you go to bed, pray for those dearly departed.

Pray for the people of Newtown.

Pray for our President.

Pray for Peace on Earth.

Unknown

How has this affected you?  What do you think needs to happen next?

Sources:  Newtown Patch, The New York Times, Huffington Post, Darien Times

In the meantime, always remember to…

>>>>>>>>  Live and Wʀɪᴛᴇ Aᴜᴛʜᴇɴᴛɪᴄᴀʟʟʏ.  <<<<<<<<<<

© 2011-2014  SidneyPeck/Cinema Profound  All Rights Reserved.

14 thoughts on “PAUSE

  1. Sidney, a beautiful, and yet what must’ve been a heartbreaking post to write. When I got to the list of names of those murdered, I had a lump in my throat and my eyes welled with tears.
    This is a tragedy beyond words.
    Thank you for writing about it with such care and compassion.

    eden

    • Bless you, Eden for not only taking the time to read, but to respond as well. I always say that writers need the honest feedback of their fellow scribes. I specifically asked for your’s as I hold you and your writing in my esteem.

      Thank you. I thought it was crucial to put the spotlight where it should be, on the innocent lives lost. I purposefully did not place his mother on the list because a matricide does not happen in a vacuum. She not only was irresponsible in the keeping of the guns, which clearly her son had access to, but according to the local papers, she publicly has commented in the past that she took her son target shooting. Beyond that, he clearly had a rage towards her that was fed over a long time. One has to wonder what happened in their home.

      Well, some of my readers reached out online and asked whether or not I was planning to write about it. I had already planned to, but their queries really touched me, so yes, I felt a certain responsibility to do so with care and reverence.

  2. Truth. Heartbreaking. Great expression as usual Sidney. Somehow you managed to let light shine through this tragedy and give us food for thought. Bravo.

  3. This could be broken up into two or three segments. While I’m sure all the info is relevant, this is much too long for my attention span these days. Most people do not have the time to read Pause and Ponder in one sitting.

    One thing I think you might consider is aiming to bring your posts under the same spotlight. Otherwise posts become scattered and do not hit the mark it appears you’re aiming for. Creating content is one thing. Creating organized or categorized content is another.

    • RE: Paragraph One: I’ll have to think about that. RE: Paragraph Two: As I said this morning, this is something that I had already decided. Glad you agree. Thanks again for your time.

  4. Simply wish to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your post is just excellent and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying work.

    • Very kind of you to say so, Gaylord. I wouldn’t call myself an expert, but I am knowledgeable. That would be lovely; thank you! I promise to do my very best. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment 🙂

  5. Well said, beautiful. I adore how you can pack a punch, get to the point and pull heartstrings in the most concise, creative and poignant manner. I’ve read other blogs where the writer takes forever to get the point across. Not you. Well done!

    • Blushing and humbled. Thank you, Gina. However, I must say that it is really not I who does the writing, and I know that you’ll get this when I say that it’s a Gift, with a capital g. XOXO

  6. I just want to mention I’m beginner to weblog and seriously liked you’re web site. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your website . You really come with excellent posts. Bless you for sharing your website page.

  7. Then please allow me to welcome you to the wonderful world of interactive writing, that blogging is! Thank you very much, I’m pleased to learn that. Again, my appreciation for your kind words. I hope to see you here again, Luz.

★ Comments are classy ★

