Social Media / Writing

The Five W’s of Social Media For Writers

Writers need a social media presence.  No one would argue with that.  The question is how much, where, when and with whom do you interact?  It’s kind of like the five W’s of Journalism.

Image: ehow.com

Image: ehow.com

Who is it about?

What happened?

When did it take place?

Where did it take place?

Why did it happen?

Actually, WHY NOT apply the five W’s to social media?

Image: bowden2bowden.wordpress.com

Image: bowden2bowden.wordpress.com

Instead of a specific event, think of them this way:

Who is your target audience?  Or, who do you most desire interaction with?  If all you want to do is connect with random people, you can stop right here, but then you’d be missing the point.  After all, it’s not called social interaction, right?  Case point, if you are interested in promoting a short film where the slasher harms animals, it’s probably not a great idea targeting your message to vegans.  You may laugh, but I guarantee it’s happened.  How do you know if their vegans??  DO YOUR HOMEWORK!  My policy is due diligence on everyone I follow and interact with.  Yes, it takes more time, but it’s worth it.

Image: dp.la

Image: dp.la

What is the message you wish to convey?  Or, more importantly, how is your message going to set you apart from the flock?  This is where branding comes into play.  The key element of branding is consistency.  For more of my thoughts on this, read my article on this site entitled:  “THOUGHTS ON BRANDING”.

Image: attitudedesign.co.uk

Image: attitudedesign.co.uk

Don’t make me repeat it again, okay?  Because I will!  🙂

When is best time to reach your audience?  For instance, if you’re a screenwriter looking to connect with the European market, it’s pointless posting to your networks at 6:00PM/EST because they’re all SLEEPING!  If you’re reaching out to a slew of markets, you’re going to have to mix it up to keep your coverage.  For instance, I am interested in connecting with people globally, therefore, I pop in and out of social media at various times of the day to connect.  This is time intensive though, so be forewarned!    An aside, if you get into that kind of activity level, be prepared to keep it up.

Where is the trickiest part of the equation.  This is going to take some research.  It seems that every day new social media networks are launched.  Make sure that you’re posting where your message is going to have the most exposure to potential consumers and influencers.  Be sure you know who the media consider as the key influencers of your given field.  This is easily done by observing who the major news outlets are covering on a daily basis.

Image: seopalbg.ocm

Image: seopalbg.ocm

Why is anyone going to care what you have to say?  The most important piece of advice I have to offer is this:  They won’t if it’s not sincere.  In other words, if your only interest in participating in social media is for business, you’d be better off finding ways for free publicity to advertise your product.  They also won’t be interested in what you have to say if you’re not offering original content, or a fresh POV.

So, get out there and be like NIKE, and remember to have F-U-N!  Always keep the focus on the social in social media and you’ll do just fine!

Image: blogs.vault.com

Image: blogs.vault.com

I’d like to hear what your thoughts are about what I wrote.  Please leave a comment.  Your feedback is valued and I reply to everyone!

© 2011-2014  Cinema Profound  All Rights Reserved.

14 thoughts on “The Five W’s of Social Media For Writers

  1. I’ve been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this blog. Thank you, I will try and check back more often. How frequently you update your web site?

    • Thank you then very much for returning and for taking the time to let me know your thoughts. Usually every week or so. You can easily subscribe, that way you’ll be sure to keep up with my content. Look to the right sidebar for ways to subscribe, and thanks again!

  2. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  3. Love this blog because it not only pertains to writers but to all those in any business. In this day and age, learning how to make the most out of social media is critical to being a success. Targeting and engaging your audience is key. I believe there should be a balance of interaction along with the “me me me” posts. I believe the “me me me” posts aren’t self centered – it’s called “promotion” Those posts catch peoples attention, whether they want to admit it or not. If one can manage a good balance of both promotional posts and engaging posts in a pleasant manner, it’s a success!

  4. This is a fantastic post bringing a common concept into a new light. It’s true, the 5 W’s are essential to reporters – so why not to bloggers (particularly with social media). I’ve been realizing how focusing your writing to be about or for particular people can certainly increase your readership and participation.

    Thanks for your articles and I look forward to reading more!

    • Thank you for saying that Rob. Well, I’m a trained journalist, so it’s something that was obvious to me. I’m glad that it appealed to you. Yes, although I would also say that if your site is strictly focused on a particular readership, you also risk loosing a wider audience. I believe that it’s possible to blog about multiple topics, as long as you can offer a valuable perspective.

      I’m so glad to see you here, as you know I really liked your site.

  5. I really enjoyed this piece…so much so that I’m going to reblog it…but not until tomorrow morning because it’s almost midnight and it wouldn’t make much sense to post it now…(see – I was paying attention!)

    • Tim, that is LOVELY news! Thank you so much! As you can probably see, I am pathetically behind posting here. I want you to know that this comment and the repost have invigorated me and I’m going to work on something today to post on Monday. HUGE thanks to you! 🙂

  6. Reblogged this on blindoggbooks and commented:
    Most Independent Authors have learned that social media is an invaluable tool for branding and marketing.
    This blog post gives a nice summary of how to get a good start with it and how to avoid wasting time with it.

★ Comments are classy ★

